News and Events

The Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County Honors Community Leaders for Their Work on Local Tobacco Prevention Issues
May 7, 2018

On May 7, the Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County presented their annual Tobacco Prevention Awards to local community leaders at the organization’s quarterly meeting.
The Tobacco Prevention Awards are presented each year to groups or individuals who have made an exceptional contribution towards the goals of the Tobacco Free Partnership.

Martin County Tobacco Prevention Specialist Kim Nash presents Laura Daniels with her award.

Laura Daniels from the Arts Council of Martin County accepted an award for the Partner of the Year, in recognition for ArtsFest of Martin County going tobacco free this year.  In addition to decreasing youth exposure, the health benefits of reducing secondhand smoke at the popular and well-attended festival has an immediate and positive impact on the residents of Martin County.

Commissioner Doug Smith was named a Community Champion of the Year for his efforts supporting the mission of the Tobacco Free Partnership and local SWAT (Students Working Against Tobacco) Clubs in Martin County.

Martin County Tobacco Prevention Specialist Kim Nash presents Betty Gregory with her award.

Betty Gregory, a local resident of Cambridge at Heritage Ridge, was also named a Community Champion of the Year.  Gregory worked with her fellow residents to gather hundreds of signatures in support of tobacco free areas at the community’s shared public spaces.  As a result, they were able to convince the HOA to adopt a tobacco free policy.

Each year, The Tobacco Free Partnership recognizes key leaders from the Students Working Against Tobacco (SWAT) Program. This year, Outstanding Youth of the Year awards were presented to Jocelyn DiSalvo of Hidden Oaks Middle School, Brooke Shingary of Stuart Middle School, Anaya Thornton of Murray Middle School, Jack Ungerland of South Fork High School, Kaylei Weeks of Indiantown Middle School, Gabriella Camacho of the YMCA and Tyrique Lewis of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Martin County.

QuitDoc Foundation Co-Founder Dr. Barry Hummel presents Cynthia Bishop with her award.

Cynthia Bishop, the SWAT Advisor from the Murray Middle School, was named the SWAT Advisor of the Year.  Her passion for tobacco prevention shines through in her club members, who were hard at work this year creating bookmarks for the media center, walking in the Hobe Sound Christmas Parade, creating presentations on tobacco prevention for their school, and much more!

QuitDoc Foundation Co-Founder Dr. Barry Hummel presents Melissa Gershman with her award.

Melissa Gershman, the SWAT Advisor from Indiantown Middle School, was awarded Rookie SWAT Advisor of the Year for her first year leading the club.  Tasked with rebuilding a club from scratch, she immediately set to work recruiting new members and creating a series of substantial tobacco prevention programs on campus.  In their first year, they successfully hosted campus-wide events for Red Ribbon Week, Through With Chew Week and more – helping to reach a large number of students and make a BIG impact.

Dr. Barry Hummel presents Stuart Middle School with the SWAT Club of the Year Award.

Stuart Middle School was named this year’s SWAT Club of the Year.  The Stuart Middle School Club had a strong year, implementing new and exciting tobacco prevention programs on campus and participating in community wide events, like the Martin County Fair, where they created their own license plates with tobacco prevention messages for fair attendees to vote on.  They brought observances like Through With Chew Week and the Great American Smoke Out to their school campus with creative posters to help prevent their peers from tobacco use.

The work of the Tobacco Free Partnership would not be possible without the support and the effort of all of its members. This year’s award winners once again demonstrated a special commitment to tobacco prevention that is continuing to make a positive difference in Martin County.

For more information on the work of the Tobacco Free Partnership, or to become a member, contact Kim Nash at, or visit