Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County appoints 2016-2017 Advisory Council
August 23, 2016

STUART, Fla. — The Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County has appointed its 2016-2017 Advisory Council.  Advisory Council members assume a leadership role in regard to tobacco control and advocacy, education, and prevention and policy change in Martin County.

This year’s advisory council members include Julie McHenry of Tykes and Teens, Dr. Anita Cocoves of Martin County, Ralph Perrone of American Cancer Society, Ellie Nicholas, CDC Advocate, Joanne Kelly of Martin Health Systems, Maureen Ryan of the Martin County Health Department, Jackie Holfelder, freelance writer, Shannon Nazzal of Martin County Parks and Recreation, Dr. Presley Charles of the Martin County School District, Jolynn Whitten of Sandhill Cove and Jennifer Ahern of Children's Services Council of Martin County.

Our newest Advisory Council members, Jolynn Whitten (L) and Jennifer Ahern (R)

The Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County is dedicated to the creation of tobacco-free social norms through a combination of community education, youth advocacy and changes in local tobacco policies.  The mission of the Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County reflects the goals of the CDC Best Practices, especially in regards to changes in local tobacco policies to create and promote tobacco-free social norms.

Some of the past initiatives of the partnership include ordinances to place tobacco products behind the counter and away from youth at retail outlets in Martin County, tobacco free policies for youth sports leagues and workplaces, an e-cigarette ordinance with the City of Stuart and tobacco-free policies at public venues and events, including the Martin County Fair and the Riverwalk Stage in Downtown Stuart.

The Tobacco Free Partnership of Martin County is facilitated by the QuitDoc Foundation.  Learn more at  To learn more about the partnership or to get involved, visit